DUI - Florida DUI Sanctions

If you’ve been charged with DUI in Pinellas County, it’s very important that you both understand the Florida DUI process as explained in our site and that you also understand the penalties you could be facing. The statutory minimums for a DUI conviction are outlined in Florida Statute 316.193. The sanctions imposed if the case is pled will depend on whether it is a first, second, or third offense. The sanctions are as follows:

FIRST CONVICTION:
(1) Adjudication of Guilt;
(2) Fine amount not less than $500 or more than $1000;
(3) Imprisonment not to exceed 6 months (No mandatory jail sentence for first conviction)
(4) Ignition Interlock Device to be installed in the person’s vehicle for 6 months if the breath sample exceeds .15 or if there was a minor in the vehicle;
(5) Completion of DUI Level I School and any required Counseling
(6) Probation up to 12 months
(7) Minimum of 50 hours of community service (Possible to buyout at $10 dollars an hour)
(8) 10 day vehicle impound (some exceptions depending on specific facts)

SECOND CONVICTION:
(1) Adjudication of Guilt;
(2) Fine not less than $1000
(3) Ignition Interlock Device for at least 1 year
(4) Imprisonment for 10 day minimum if the second conviction is within 5 years of the first; but for no more than 9 months; (No jail required if prior DUI conviction was 5 years or more prior.
(5) Completion of DUI Level II School 
(6) 30 day vehicle impound (some exceptions depending on specific facts)
(7) Probation up to 12 months

THIRD CONVICTION:
(1) Possible felony conviction if the offense occurs within 10 years after a second conviction;
(2) Ignition Interlock Device to be installed in your vehicle for minimum 2 years;
(3) Fine amount not less than $2000
(4) Imprisonment for a minimum of 30 days if the offense occurs within 10 years of the second
(5) 90 day vehicle impound (some exceptions depending on specific facts)
(6) Probation